fbpx
(404) 793-0011 | drmaiysha@drmaiysha.com

3 Thought Habits That Could Be Sabotaging Your Life

20220507-141849the-psychology-of-the-mind-concept-2021-08-30-06-51-03-utc

IF you've ever felt that ping of self-doubt and "imposter syndrome" that makes you hesitate when opportunities you know you really want to come up because you think "you're not good enough yet…" "You're not smart enough", and that no matter how much you do, how hard you work, how many degrees you get, how successful other people think you are, it's just not enough to call yourself an expert, then you may be a victim of your own thought patterns.

The problem is that even if you've done a lot of self-development, even if you've done therapy, and even if you have I've read every self-help book on the shelf, there are likely some unconscious thought habits that you are not able to see because they are in your blind spots. Driving down the road the other day, and I'm a careful driver, when I preceded to turn on my signal and change lanes. I have a fairly new car that has the blind spot detectors on them, but I'm old school so I still look to the side to make sure I'm not missing anything. The blind spot indicators were not lit, I looked over my shoulder and saw nothing, yet when I began to cross the line I heard a honk and suddenly saw that I was about to hit a big black SUV. I thought to myself "How in the world did I not see that?" The answer is that even when we think we've checked all of the spots, blind spots can still occur. Fortunately, I did not hit that SV, but what did happen is I became acutely aware of other things that I did not know I could not see.

What does this have to do with anything?